

GUAHAN ANCESTRAL LANDS COMMISSION

Felix P. Camacho Governor

Eddie L.G. Benavente Executive Director



Michael W. Cruz, M.D. Lieutenant Governor

588 West Marine Drive, Suite 103 - Anigua / P.O. Box 2950, Hagåtña, Guahan 96932 / Tel: (671) 473-5263 or 7 / Fax: (671) 475-9165 E-Mail address: ancestrallandsguam@yahoo.com website: www.ancestrallands.net

December 30, 2010

Honorable Judith T. Won Pat Speaker, Mina Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guahan 155 Hesler Place Hagåtña, Guam 96910

Ha'anen Minagof Madame Speaker:

Transmitted herewith is Guahan Ancestral Lands Commission's Resolution No. 2010-004, signed and dated December 29, 2010 by the GALC Board of Commissioners.

Should you have any questions, please advise.

Si Yu'os Ma'ase',

EODIE/L.G. BENAVENTE

Executive Director

BOARD OF COMMISSIONER

Anita F. Orlino Chairperson

Ronald T. Laguaña Vice Chair

Maria G. Cruz

Ronald F. Eclavea Commissioner

James C. Matanane Commissioner

Lydia M. Tyner Commissioner

Anthony J.P. Ada Commissioner

30-10-1106



GUAHAN ANCESTRAL LANDS COMMISSION

Resolution No. 2010-004





Whereas the Guahan Ancestral Lands Commission (GALC) previously on April 20 2010 passed a Resolution about its concerns that the Liheslaturan Guahan is taking land in its inventory that is supposed to be administered by GALC for the benefit of persons who would have valid ancestral lands claims but whose lands have not been returned by the federal government, and

Whereas the lease proposed by Public Law 30-92 to be given to the Farmers' Cooperative Association of Guam, Inc is yet another such instance of land being taken from the inventory of the Guahan Ancestral Lands Commission, and

Whereas Public Law requires that the proposed lease to the Farmer's Co-op to be executed only after the Guahan Ancestral Lands Board of Commissioners has approved it.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Guahan Ancestral Lands Board of Commissioners declines to approve said lease to the Farmer's Co-op, since to do so would be contradictory to the GALC's statutory fiduciary obligation to manage such lands for the benefit of dispossessed ancestral land owners.

Anita F. Orlino
Chairperson

James C. Matanane Commissioner Ronald T. Laguana Vice Chairperson

Λ

Lydia M. Tynex dar Commissioner Maria G. Cruz (Secretary / Treasure

Ronald F. Eclavea Commissioner

Anthony J.P. Ada Commissioner